Dark Girls

387403_255175284552431_1111616055_n

I have been waiting for the release of this documentary FOREVER!! This documentary is about the social issues of complexion, perception, history, and opportunity within the Black community. It is finally airing on June 23, 2013 at 10 p.m. on the OWN network. It will also be released on DVD on September 24, 2013. If you’d like more information, you can check them out here. Also, go and like their Facebook page here.

ETA: Here is the official preview.

4 thoughts on “Dark Girls

  1. Thanks for posting! I’m glad as well that it’s finally coming out. I’m not a TV watcher, but I’m gonna have to find a way to watch this! I have never forgotten seeing the preview and hearing that child (at 7:00 mins) talking about how disgusting it is to wake up and see your nappy hair, I mulled over he words in complete disbelief for a looong time. I feel soooo sorry for her. This should be an interesting watch.

    1. I can’t wait to see it…I’m plotting to see whose house I can watch it at because I don’t have cable. I just don’t watch enough TV to have cable. I’m a Hulu and Netflix kinda gal…purposeful TV as I like to call it haha. Have you ever seen the Clark Doll Experiment? There was an updated one on CNN, it was pretty sad.

Leave a Reply

