The Things That Stick

IMG_1126

I remember when I was in high school, I was walking back to my seat from our break and a boy looked at me and said “You’re ugly.” I replied with “So?” Sometimes I think back to this moment and wish that I said something a little more story worthy, or maybe something that made him fully aware that he was a complete idiot. This was such a small situation in the grand scheme of my life, but for some reason, this experience stuck with me. Every time I thought of this boy, I felt a sense of contempt; maybe it’s because I couldn’t understand why he would randomly say something like that to me.

IMG_2061

The older I get, the more I am realizing that what I think and how I feel about myself is the most important thing. Self-awareness and self-love should be at the forefront so that I could love and care for others with the same awareness and love. Do I know that I’m beautiful? Do I know that I am talented, special, and amazing? Now I do. I don’t always operate from this realization, but I know it to be true.

I’m sure you’ve all had at least one experience when someone made you feel undesirable, unintelligent, and many other “un” adjectives. Maybe you’ve gotten one of the “nicer” insults like, “You have a cute face,” or “if you weren’t/didn’t…you’d be pretty.” You might remember who said it by their first and last name, what you were wearing, or the hard day you had up until that moment that broke you. But the most important thing is that you become unabashedly aware of your own beauty and self-worth. Do things to celebrate your life and learn to be in love with you. Then, learn to accept the love of others.

IMG_1776

IMG_1423

IMG_2579

…and try not to take yourself too seriously.

Photo on 1-11-13 at 10.41 PM #2

This video below struck a cord with me because I know that so many women can relate to this. These women have no idea of their beauty and worth. If you have about 6 minutes, have a look. xo

Leave a Reply

