I never thought I could…

Oct 2 2010

The picture on the right was taken on October 2, 2010. The picture on the left was taken April 5, 2013. When I looked back at these photos, I was shocked by how slim my face looked. I was diagnosed with Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS). This diagnosis included a bunch of different things, one of them including rapid weight gain. This can be particularly scary if you don’t know that you have PCOS (which is what happens for most women). This is what happened to me. I gained almost 50 lbs without changing my diet or anything. I was ate a little above normal, meaning that I indulged sometimes but I bought a lot of organic items and ate my fruits and veggies. The picture from 2010 was before my diagnosis. I tried to do what ever I could to get back to where I was to no avail. Another symptom that comes with this diagnosis is insulin resistance. This was one of the main reasons I had trouble losing weight. Insulin resistance means that the insulin in the body is less effective at lowering blood sugar, so it contributes to weight gain because of the increase of insulin and glucose in the body.

Insulinresistance

Due to all of these factors, trying to live healthily, and not succeeding, I just thought that this was it and I’d never be able to do it. Fast-forwarding to the picture taken this year, I have been able to lose 25 lbs and I’ve started weight training to tone. I still have work to do, but I am accomplishing what I never thought I could.

For many PCOSers, it can be hard to reconcile changes in your eating habits because after all, you probably eat what is considered “normal” and/or you eat way better than your “skinny” friends, but the key is to eat what is right for YOUR body. Sometimes change isn’t the easiest thing, but it is necessary and if you really want to, you can do it!

xo

Leave a Reply

