To Eat or Not to Eat

I have a friend from Uraguay and her family has a pretty interesting saying. They say, “a diet is for the house.” I must say, I’m inclined to agree with them on some level. In other countries and cultures, it can be extremely disrespectful to refuse food they have prepared, especially for their guest.

I have a few different things that I do when dealing with food, friends, traveling, and not being offensive. One thing I typically do is pre-eat. If I know ahead of time that I am going somewhere that won’t have things that I eat, I will start the party at home so by the time I get there, I’m not starving, they aren’t offended, and my diet isn’t completely ruined. Another thing I like to do is to pick the lesser of the “evils” if there are healthy options available. It may not be perfectly what I’d eat but I can’t starve and I can’t completely be rude either.

The prices at this hotel is ridonkulous. I paid $1.75 for a banana (insert head slap here). Anyway, the breakfast selections were VERY limited. There was a choice between bagels, danishes, donuts, frosted flakes, fruit loops, and these items pictured below.

IMG_0001

I opted for the Kashi cereal and fruit. Was this the optimal paleo choice for me? Absolutely not. But, when you are traveling, sometimes there is nothing you can do about it unless you’re stubborn enough to starve yourself (which isn’t healthy at all).

If there are options available where you can get a burger or chicken sandwich, you can also just remove the bread and eat everything else. There are plenty of other ways to get around it if you can think outside of the box a little bit.

At the end of the day, all of this really boils down to being a first world problem in many regards. We are fortunate to have the amount of options that we have. If I was in a place where all they had was rice and corn meal, then rice and corn meal it is.

Leave a Reply

