Going Paleo

 

This is the time of year where folks eat a crap ton of food then swear they will get in shape for the new year. I’m not waiting until then. I am also pleased to say that I didn’t eat like a savage during Thanksgiving. I may or may not have had a little bit of apple pie…pecan pie….and err uh pumpkin pie?! 

Over the last month and a half, I have been able to lose 17lbs through changing my diet and mild exercise. I lowered my carbohydrate intake significantly and I attribute this for a lot of my weight loss. I am not anti-carb, trust me. I could eat an entire pot of jasmine rice alone with no help, but, I have PCOS (Poly Cystic Ovarian Syndrome) so I am not able to eat as many carbs as I’d like.

The method to my madness was to strip away all carbs first, then slowly reintroduce some in the form of vegetables and fruit (non-starchy) to my diet to see what my body can tolerate. Today, actually, was the first day that I had fruit, but I’d been eating vegetables though.

I’ve been doing a lot of research on what the best possible diet is for this condition. Because I have PCOS, I’ve decided that the best route for me is to strip my diet of processed foods and beverages. The cleaner I eat, the better it is for my hormones. This led me to the Paleo Diet. I love infographics (random? this is heading somewhere, I promise). So, below is an infographic about the Paleo Diet and what it entails.

Image

I don’t know exactly what is nutritionally throwing my hormones off, so I will also be eliminating gluten, wheat, and soy from my diet as well until further notice.

I will be updating you all as to how this is going, if any of this is helping to control the PCOS, and if the foods are actually tasty.

Here is a Paleo Food Flow Chart to further your viewing pleasure.

Image

 

If any of you have ever done this or have experience with PCOS, please, don’t hesitate to leave a comment. Let’s help each other out.

xo

3 thoughts on “Going Paleo

  1. I’m glad I found your page. Your food looks very yummy!I also have PCOS and I’m starting to change my eating style to help me because with PCOS it’s been hard on my TTC journey. Taking that first step towards healthy eating is hard, but I’m glad that there’s a whole blogger community out here that is supportive. We’re not alone – yea!

    1. Hey girl! I know it’s difficult but the best way to start this journey is one day at a time. I can definitely say that my carb cravings have been reduced significantly and my dr. reduced my metformin does from 1000mg/day to 500mg/day. You can do it and you have my full support! There isn’t a cure for this (yet) and we have to be the ambassador’s for our own health because all Dr’s can really do is medicate us at this point (not against medication but i’d rather have as little of it as possible). Sorry for writing an essay…haha. Please, keep in touch! xo

Leave a Reply

