Why Natural?

Image

I know that many women (and even men) have gone natural for many different reasons. Some women had bad experiences with relaxers, some women have gone natural based on cultural epiphany, and some for the versatility.

Image

My reason for going natural was actually pretty simple. I didn’t have time to relax my hair. That’s all. Then when the time did arise, I was too lazy to do it. As my new growth began to sprout and curl up, I became enticed by it. After a few months, I figured that I would get braids and after I took them out, ImageI’d decide whether I would relax again. When I took the braids out, my relaxed ends were so broken that I gave myself an impromptu haircut. I stopped relaxing my hair in December of 2010 and I cut it in August of 2011 at about 4 a.m. Then I was super nervous to wear my hair out later that day, but what choice did I have?

I am not saying that anyone’s reason for going or being natural isn’t valid. Although my natural experience started through pure laziness on a whim, I now find a deep value in self-love, self-esteem, and self-confidence that has come through embracing me naturally.

(Disclaimer: I have nothing against anyone with a relaxer. I actually had very nice relaxed hair. I am only referring to my current journey and experience. I also think that if someone chooses to relax, they should still have fabulous hair.)

Leave a Reply

